K&N Air Filter For Your Mustang

Nothing kills engine performance like a dirty clogged air filter. Maximizing air flow is a key component of making horsepower. What if you could protect your Mustang’s engine, save money, and get a little horsepower boost? K&N filters can help you achieve all three!

af_ck_hl_main2

My son and I used to race go-karts all around the Midwest. We ran on dirt and pavement tracks. We always ran K&N filters and K&N pre-chargers on our karts. The insides of our engines were always spotless. K&N filters flowed great, helped us win a ton of races, and saved us a ton of money.

 

Cost

K&N filters do cost more initially. I found mine for about $60 on Amazon. A standard Fram or Wix air filter will run you $8 to $10 at parts stores or on Amazon. But, you can wash the K&N filters and use them again and again. In the long run, you will save money.

Air Flow

K&N filters flow much better than ordinary air filters. Up to 50% more depending on the model. This is where the minor H.P. and torque gains are found. These filters also capture more harmful engine damaging debris than regular air filters. K&N supplies the filters pre-oiled. Just install and go!

Installation

Installation took me about two minutes. On my car there are 3 spring clips that keep the cold air box closed. After opening the cover, I simply swapped out the filters. My car runs great with the K&N! I highly recommend K&N filters for Mustangs or any other vehicle.

20161130_164046-copy

20161130_163543

Washing The Filter

I love being able to wash these filters and use them again and again. K&N claims a filter can go 50,000 miles before washing. I wouldn’t go nearly that long myself. Be sure to use K&N filter wash to clean filters. Do not use any high power cleaners. Under no circumstances should you use gasoline or any other petroleum product.

To wash my filter, I fill the sink up with about three inches of warm (not hot) water. Then, I pour in few ounces of filter wash. I let the filter soak for a few minutes. Then, I swish it around a little while flipping it over several times. I use a very gentle spray of water from the sink sprayer to flush out the remaining debris.Never use a high pressure stream of water. Keep rinsing until all traces of filter wash are gone.

K&N has a filter washing tutorial here:  How to wash your K&N filter

Drying The Filter

Shake off any excess water from the washing process. Always allow the filter to air dry thoroughly before installing. NEVER use compressed air or heat to speed up the drying process. Doing so will damage the cotton filter material. Do not oil a wet filter.

Oiling The Filter

While K&N supplies new filters pre oiled, you will need to re-oil the filter after each wash. Do not be temped to run the filter without oil. These filters work best when oiled. I suggest using genuine K&N filter oil. It is not expensive and a can will last forever. Be sure not to over oil the filter. A nice and even coat will do. I already had a bottle of filter wash and a can of oil already in the shop from our kart racing days.

Summary

Outfitting your Mustang with a washable and reusable K&N filter is a no brainer. K&N makes filter for all years of Mustangs. Their filters protect your engine from harmful debris, offers great performance and saves you money. K&N offers a 10 year/1 million mile warranty.

For more information or to purchase a K&N filter and supplies check out the links below:

Check out the K&N 33-2015 Filter on Amazon

K&N Filters Official Website

 

Disclosure: I received no compensation or products from K&N.

 

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program. We may earn a comission by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. This does not affect the price you pay for products on Amazon.

 

Leave a comment